Beginning in 1965, Fayette Electric Cooperative has sponsored the Government-in-Action Youth Tour for co-op youths. Often called the trip of a lifetime, Youth Tour brings local students up close to monuments, museums, art and historical sites in and around Washington D.C., and provides a firsthand look at how our federal government works with visits to the U.S. Capitol and with congressional representatives. 

Students, you could:

  • Win a FREE trip to Washington, D.C.

  • Meet 1,600 student leaders from across the country.

  • Talk with your representatives and senators.

  • Make lifetime friendships.

To be eligible for the contest, students must:

  1. Be high school age, in the 10th, 11th or 12th grade
  2. Reside in the home of a parent or legal guardian who is a FULL TIME resident within Fayette Electric’s service territory and has an active FEC account
  3. No handwritten entries will be accepted

Children, siblings and grandchildren of employees and directors of Fayette Electric Cooperative, Inc. are not eligible to participate in the contest.

The deadline for applications has passed.

For additional information, please contact Tracy Denton at 979-968-3181 or

To All 2022 FEC Youth Tour Applicants:

Recently, due to a surge in coronavirus cases, it is now a requirement for anyone over the age of 12 to show proof of vaccination to enter many of the venues in the D.C. area. There are also new restrictions on access to many of the venues that are part of the weeklong trip. Preparation for Youth Tour requires months of planning, and decisions often need to be made well in advance. Fayette EC is currently working with state and national Youth Tour stakeholders to evaluate the situation and make decisions that are in the best interest of our members. The situation remains fluid, and we will continue to provide updates as new information becomes available.  

Please Click here for the full list of Washington D.C. Requirements

These Washington D.C. Mandates will be in place beginning January 15, 2022 and are subject to change. 

                                              2022 YOUTH TOUR WINNERS

Natalie Ohnheiser
Weimar High School

Charles Herbrich
La Grange High School